Camden Children, Nick Lowe and the Salvation Army

580989_4284188143528_419596618_n
Nick Lowe’s song “I Was Born in Bethlehem” really resonated with me yesterday as I sat in front of Walmart with a Salvation Army apron and bell and watched all those smiling faces of people as they put money in the kettle beneath the long-standing “Doing the Most Good” logo.

Here are the words:
I was born in Bethlehem. Two thousand years ago have passed since then and I’ve done what I can to remain where a man (woman or child) can find a friend on the streets of Bethlehem (or Camden).
As the story always said we were trying to find a bed. It was cold, I was late and we stood outside the locked gate at the inn until the kindness of strangers let us in to a stable round the back, little more than a shack, where my sweet mother, meek and mild and herself, only a child, gave her best then took her rest.
At the door, then came a knock, shepherds too had quit their flock, with their eyes round with fear, Daddy jumped up and cried “Get out of here” but mother stilled him and bid them draw near. I was there but couldn’t see the unfolding mystery – kings with presents of gold, myrr and frankensense and set then before the lamb neath the star of Bethlehem.
I was born in Bethlehem, it’s been two thousand years since then but I’ve done what I can to remain where a man can find a friend, I was born in Bethlehem.

2 Responses to “Camden Children, Nick Lowe and the Salvation Army”

  1. artaware Says:

    Please notice a recognizable refrain from the straw man singing in Wizard of Oz…

  2. artaware Says:

Leave a Reply

