Murasaki’s Kitten, Beebee

10468148_10204170706808493_3340192011748557059_o

 

Murasaki’s Kitten, Beebee

A hard beginning.
Mom hit by a car – paralyzed hind quarters.
Kids come to my house
“Can you help? She’s trying to get to her kitten.”

I bring Mom and day-old kitten home
thinking it will be their last day alive
but Mom ate well and nursed baby

Mom was not in pain.
No euthenasia necessary.
Fifteen years later, Mom died.

A wonderful Mum, who didn’t act disabled.
She was “Murasaki” who gracefully swished her body
like the famous 12th century Japanese woman writer did her kimono.

Seventeen years later, yesterday morning,
that kitten, Beebee, died.
My house is not the same.

I see her spirit eveywhere.
Last night I felt her purring beside me,
but she wasn’t there.

Our last days together were almost the best
because I paid so much attention to her
and she responded in kind

I wanted her to live forever
and I think she wanted to.
At the end she followed me around

like a little puppy dog
and I slowed my gait
to accommodate her.

She wasn’t eating so
I experimented with different expensive foods
she might like.

I googled old-age feline remedies.
She lasted three whole months after her first seizure
and finally gave up the ship on December 23rd, 2015.

I owe her so much.
I hope, when it becomes my time
I can die as gracefully.

Leave a Reply

