In Thanksgiving for Karen Avenick

  kimg0994-2karens-xmas-tree In Thanksgiving for Karen Avenick

Karen and I love life. My dear friend said to me:”Nobody cares.”

Oh no Karen, it’s the opposite, everyone cares, they just don’t know how to…

We all face times in our lives when this thought pops up, Karen, but just remember and know how much YOU care!

We’ve talked about it. We’ve sung songs about it. We love life and have lived life. Yesterday, sitting outside in the spring afternoon…

…the hundred foot, hundred year old trees around Collingswood Manor…”Gorgeous” you said. You are gorgeous, Karen, my dear.

People file in and out of your room hurrying to the task at hand, you smile and it makes them feel better…

You say “thank you” or “no thank you,” when they ask a question. They want to help but don’t know how.

Let’s look to the music we love and sing it: South Pacific, The King and I, Finean’s Rainbow…Finean’s Rainbow!?!

Oh, why did I say that? Remember that Bum’s Song… “When I’m not near the girl I love, I love the girl I’m near…”

Let’s change the word “girl” to boy or another person, place or thing: When I am not near the creature I love, I love the thing I’m near…

So many persons, places, things, around us Karen. Aren’t we promiscuous! They all love us back in one way or another when you think about it.

But it’s sometimes hard to see. Let’s keep our eyes and hearts open. Let’s “keep the faith,” as they say.

Thank you for your wisdom, Karen, for saying just the right thing in response to just the right situation.

I want to hear more of your thoughts, Karen. Forgive me for not taking the time to listen. I’m too busy with “loving the thing I’m near!”

Barbara Pfeiffer, 2015

Leave a Reply

